Affordable Housing Committee

The Town of Orleans Affordable Housing Committee is composed of seven (7) members appointed by the Orleans Select Board. The purpose of the AHC is to enable the Town to create and preserve affordable housing for low- and moderate-income households. AHC works to create housing opportunities for a diverse population, including all age and income levels, with particular emphasis on lower income households with the highest housing needs and persons needed to meet the workforce demands of the local economy.


NameTitleTerm Expires
Nancy RennChairJune 30, 2024
Bill StoeckertVice ChairJune 30, 2025
Elizabeth PaineMemberJune 30, 2025
Susan CarlsonMemberJune 30, 2024
Nancy JamesClerkJune 30, 2023
Fran McClennenMemberJune 30, 2025
Andrea Shaw ReedSelect Board Liaison

Town Staff Contacts: Within Town government, responsibility for affordable housing lies with the Department of Planning and Community Development. George Meservey is the Director of Planning and Community Development. Marsha Allgeier is the Affordable Housing Coordinator.

Orleans Community Housing Study (2017): completed in 2017, this study provided a comprehensive look at the demographic, housing, and economic characteristics of Orleans and formed the basis of much of the action taken between 2017 and the present time.

Housing 101 Presentation: a Prezi and PowerPoint presentation given by Andrea Aldana of the Community Development Corporation (CDP) and Marsha Allgeier, Orleans Affordable Housing Coordinator, on the basics of affordable housing, including definitions, causes of the problem, and what has been done to address the needs.